31 August 2019
The Chinese government has released names of individuals who will be will be recognized for the first time in commemoration of the 70th anniversary of the founding of the People's Republic of China.
Among them are three space scientists: Sun Jiadong made contributions to the country’s satellite technologies and space exploration. He was chief designer of both the Beidou navigation system and China’s lunar exploration project. Ye Peijian specialised in deep-space exploration at the China Academy of Space Technology. He is known as the father of the Chang’e lunar probes. Nan Rendong was the founder of the Five-hundred-metre Aperture Spherical Telescope (FAST) project.